The Boogieman Part III

Sinclair didn’t scream or curse when she was finally gone, he didn’t even make a sound. He just stood there silently, tears that went unchecked slowly rolling down his face. At some point he had fallen to his knees, and he stayed like that for what seemed like an eternity. Maybe it was; Lisbeth seemed willing to give him all the time he needed to grieve. At some point she rejoined him in that void, wrapping her arms around him from behind and just holding him.
Sinclair eventually came back to his senses, in the field again. It wasn’t sunny this time, it was overcast and promising rain. Lisbeth was still holding him gently; she hadn’t moved or spoken, just provided support that Sinclair realized he needed. He was thankful for this mystery girl who had decided to come to him in his time of need. She must really be something special to risk helping, since officially the dream walkers had rescinded all assistance. Or maybe not; she was crying as well, just as silently as he had been.

“Who did you lose?”

“The only man who never tried to use me.”

“Denis was a monster.”

“He would come to my tea parties and tell me happy stories.”

“I have trouble imagining him at a tea party.”

“Still happened, he was the least monstrous of any of my guests.”

“Sounds like you need a new guest list.”

“Far too late for that Sinclair, far too late.”

“We can help you.”

“You have already slain your monster Sinclair, time to rest and let the world spin around you.”

“You’re going then?”

“Yes. Time for you to rest and enjoy a dreamless sleep.”

Lisbeth faded out of the world just moments before the world itself faded into blessed blackness. Sinclair blinked. He was in the field again this time with a very annoyed looking young blond girl.

“So…we have a problem.”

“Lisbeth is that you?”

“Yes, anyways back to the problem. I’m stuck here.”

“How is that possible?”

“Well dream walkers can’t enter the mind of someone in a coma, and apparently if we are already inside we can’t get out either.”

“I’m in a coma?”

“Apparently. This sucks.”

Lisbeth pouted. It was a really good pout to, just the perfect level of cute to get anything she wanted out of a doting parent. Sinclair had to revise that though when he remembered the previous conversation. But there was something very different about Lisbeth; for one thing she seemed to no longer care about Denis and his recent demise. Maybe not, dreams and all that. It might have happened some time ago.

“Lisbeth, how long have I been in a coma?”

“About a month now. I wanted to keep you asleep, but a month with nothing to do gets really boring. I had to bring you out before I started redecorating your head.”

“You brought me out to play?”

“Yeah, what do you want to do? Twins are usually pretty popular, them and actors.”

“Twins? Why would I want… Oh fuck. Why do you even think like that? How old are you even?”

“Twelve, why does it matter?”

What was it she had said about Denis? “The only man who hadn’t tried to use her”? Fuck, what kind of people had her, and what the fuck were they making her do? It was odd; chasing Denis had been cold, calculating, but now with no one else left Sinclair felt a hot anger searing through him. It affected the dream too; the sky went red and the grass withered and died even the air gained the smell of smoke and sulfur. All of sudden he noticed that Lisbeth was clinging to him, crying.

“Please calm down, I’m sorry so please don’t be upset.”

“Not you, I’m not mad at you. Where are you Lisbeth? We can come and help you.”

“No you can’t, no one can, not any more. Denis tried and look what happened.”

“Why would Denis try to help you?”

Sinclair blinked. He was in the field again, this time with a very annoyed looking young blond girl.

“So we have a problem.”

“Lisbeth is that you?”

“Yes, anyways back to the problem. I’m stuck here.”

“How is that possible?”

“Well dream walkers can’t enter the mind of someone in a coma, apparently if we are already inside we can’t get out either.”

“I’m in a coma?”

“Apparently. This sucks.”

Lisbeth pouted. It was a really good pout to, just the perfect level of cute to get anything she wanted out of a doting parent. Sinclair had to revise that though when he remembered the previous conversation. But there was something very different about Lisbeth, for one thing she seemed to no longer care about Denis and his recent demise. Maybe not, dreams and all that. It might have happened some time ago.

“Lisbeth, how long have I been in a coma?”

“About two months. I’ve run out of things to entertain myself with.”

“You brought me out because you were bored?”

“Mostly. Do you have anything you want to do?”

“I’m kinda drawing a blank…why don’t I feel quite so upset as before?”

“I let you work through some issues. You won’t remember, but the effect will stay.”

“Oh. Thanks I guess.”

“So what do you want to do? I have been staring into a black void for two months, entertain me.”

Day 928 Time 10:30
~ Hours ~ Minutes
Sinclair opened his eyes.

*Vote on Top Web Fiction*

 

Previous Chapter

Next Chapter

7 comments

  1. So on Friday I finished writing chapter 20, which incidentally will be the end of Arc 1. Feeling accomplished I took the weekend off, but I will now start working on Arc 2. However I don’t have to continue with Arc 2 immediately, instead I could answer some readers questions from my characters point of views. So if you want to ask a question either post it here or email me at taulsn@gmail.com. If I get enough I will do it. Also for Arc 2 I will attempt to increase my chapter length.

    I hope you all enjoyed the final installment of the Boogieman, chapter twelve will be on Friday.

    Edit: Another snippet has been posted under the other writings tab, please have a look.

  2. I don’t mind the punctuation! The whole style has a stream of consciousness feel to it… seems appropriate for dreams and dream walkers. Love the story !

  3. Sucks to get stuck in someones head for two + months, it’s a wonder she didn’t redo his mind. Though she did make him push down what she told him the first time. I wonder how many times she had to do that.

  4. With:
    “It was odd; chasing Denis had been cold, calculating”
    It might be better being:
    “It was odd; chasing, Denis had been cold, calculating”
    The comma makes it more like “while chasing Denis, he had been cold and calculating” which is what I think you where trying to convey.

    Nonetheless, thanks for the side story, and it was well written and I could understand and feel the characters.

Leave a comment