Fifty one

“How did you do that?” The dreamscape was mostly empty, a blank canvas of sorts. Even Nerissa didn’t have much of a form, just a vague body with no real features.

Lisbeth resisted the urge to change that, add some color, some wind, a bed. Anything really. Dreamscapes weren’t suppose to be empty, they were always filled with things of some kind. The only way you got an empty one is by design. Nerissa was apparently lucid dreaming, and trying to keep her thoughts to herself.

“I changed, I’m more than I was, or less. It depends on your perspective on things. I’m less human but more.” Lisbeth paused. “More other, sorry that the best way I can describe it.”

“You still aren’t suppose to be able to do that, even immortals have trouble interfering with dream walkers,” Nerissa replied.

“That they do, mostly because they don’t dream, or if they do they do so differently. I’m still adapting, so I still dream. Different operating systems on computers, sure they can talk but not as well as two of the same. I still have the human OS.” Lisbeth answered.

“That is a kind of a disturbing way of putting it. How did you get back? Typhon said it was unlikely.” Nerissa asked.

“I would have come back eventually, or tried to. But I have to thank divine intervention for this one.” Lisbeth replied.

“How long have you been back? What do you know about what’s been happening?” Nerissa asked.

“Just got back, a couple of hours ago, I think. I can predict what I think has been happening, but I don’t know for certain. I missed you.” Lisbeth moved forward to reach out, and brush Nerissa’s hazy face. There was no texture to it, just a resistance where she was. 

“I’ve been thinking of you, most of this is your fault isn’t it?” Nerissa asked.

“Yes, what is happening now is most likely my fault. But if it wasn’t me it would have been someone else. There are too many people out there no nobody to take the offer of immortally and power. I found a couple myself.” Lisbeth answered. “I didn’t come here to talk about this, could I just be with you for a while. For me, it’s been so very long. Longer than you can even imagine.” She couldn’t keep all of the pleading out of her voice, but she tried.

“Someone else? That’s the best you’ve got? All your thoughts about manipulation, and you can’t come up with even a halfway decent attempt at justification. Just that someone else would have ended the world, so why not you.” Nerissa’s attempt at keeping her dream empty broke down as it shuddered under the burden of rage that swept through her mind. Half formed images of emotion flared throughout the void.

Lisbeth recoiled away, in what looked like an involuntary step back. She did allow the anger to coil around her, and shred her fragile form. Not speaking until Nerissa calmed down. “I could blame my upbringing, the ones who taught me to manipulate since I was eight. That would, however, be deferring responsibility, they are equally if not more culpable, but that does not diminish what I have done, and what I will do.”

“Why don’t you stop then? Just leave disappear?” Nerissa asked, this time it was her turn to plead. The dreamscape even calmed down a bit, but the flashes of anger were still present around the edges, visible just out of the corners of Lisbeth’s eyes.

“It’s too late for that, the remaining gods leave me alone as long as I continue to act, when I stop they will step in. You wouldn’t like it, they would try to seize the reins of my power. Not just myself mind you the drones as well, the kinds of toys they can play with, without violating the rules. I may have started this shit show, but it won’t end with me not until things play to their conclusion.” Lisbeth didn’t try to approach Nerissa again, no matter how much she wanted to.

“So that’s it then, the end of humanity. Why humans? We’ve been wondering. The elves and Dwarves have only been hit hard enough to prevent them from sending help, it’s the humans who have it the worst.” Nerissa asked she had managed to pull the dreamscape back under her control, retuning it to it’s void revealing little.

“I don’t know, sentimentality maybe? I guess I thought it might be easier, that I could relate better to humans? It doesn’t make sense, there isn’t any real difference mentally. We all think the same. Maybe I harbor some resentment against humans or something. I mean I really only have the resources to attack one world, but I don’t know why I chose the humans.” For the first time, Lisbeth seemed confused, presented with a question she didn’t have an answer ready for. Something she couldn’t figure out. “I suppose there is the easy option, I’m human, or I was it just seemed to be the default option. That does feel a little simplistic.”

“So that’s it, we’re getting shafted at random. I don’t know if that makes me feel better or worse. I guess I shouldn’t take it personally then, except you are personal. So maybe I should take it more personally.”

“Do what you wish I guess, I won’t try to change that except with words. I could probably, and I think I wish to. You were the first good thing to happen to me in a very long time, so I can’t do that. Is it odd that I would consider that to be a worse crime, after everything I’ve done?”

“No. It’s time for you to go.”

“I suppose it is, even if no time has passed.” Lisbeth did move forward and caressed Nerissa’s face with her hand one last time. “I’ll say one more thing before I go, ending the world is easy so it’s against the rules. There have to be two sides, and they both have to have a chance, no matter how slim. It’s not quite as bad as you think it is.” Lisbeth left.

Previous

Next

Vote

3 comments

  1. And back to our lovable couple in Raising Angels. Can you just feel the love in the air? I’m probably going to avoid romance for a while after I’m done with Raising Angels, I don’t trust myself to do it well.

    Since I’ve rightly fallen off the listing in TWF could I please get some votes now that I’m returning to posting Raising Angels. Vote on TWF here. Also if you could give me a rating on WFG or a review that would be much appreciated (and get a bonus chapter). Rate/Review on WFG here.

    This almost didn’t get posted not because it didn’t get written, but because my internet sucks right now. It did so all’s well that ends well.

Leave a Reply

